Blessed G, Tomlinson BE, Roth M.

"The association between quantitative measures of dementia and of senile change
in the cerebral grey matter of elderly subjects"

Br J Psychiatry. 1968;114(512):797-811.

I➜The Blessed Dementia Scale also abbreviated BDS or BLS-D is a widely used brief behavioural scale developed in 1968. The BDS is divided into two subtests, which can be administered together or separately:
1. The caregiver scale with 22 items that measure changes in performance of everyday activities (eight items), self-care habits (three items), and changes in personality, interests, and drives (11 items). Overall scores range from 0 (normal) to 28 (extreme incapacity); a cognitive subscale omits the personality questions (12–22) and has a range from 0 (normal) to 17 (severely demented)
2. The “Information-Memory-Concentration test” which is administered to the patient. Episodic memory is evaluated by the “5-Minute Recall” section and most questions on the “Information” section. By contrast, the “Personal Memory” and “Non-personal Memory” sections sample remotely learned information which is part of semantic memory.The maximum score is 37.

Related: "Memory dysfunction in clinical practice"

Get Short URL
Get Short URL

Never ignore professional medical advice in seeking treatment because of something you have read or use on this site.

Our online tools are addressed to health professionals and not to patients. In any case you may read our complete disclaimer.